Wednesday’s Words of Wisdom, Brought To You By Georgia O’Keefe and Me

on

I decided that if I could paint that flower in a huge scale, you could not ignore its beauty

I’ve been absolutely terrified every moment of my life – and I’ve never let it keep me from doing a single thing I wanted to do.DSCN4222

I often lay on that bench looking up into the tree, past the trunk and up into the branches. It was particularly fine at night with the stars above the tree.

Midsummer Night
Before The Festival

To create one’s world in any of the arts takes courage.
DSCN4161

I have things in my head that are not like what anyone has taught me – shapes and ideas so near to me – so natural to my way of being and thinking that it hasn’t occurred to me to put them down.

The days you work are the best days.

 

You get whatever accomplishment you are willing to declare.
third eye open

I found I could say things with color and shapes that I couldn’t say any other way – things I had no words for.

Marks on paper are free – free speech – press – pictures all go together I suppose.

I feel there is something unexplored about woman that only a woman can explore.
dscn3919

I read her bio a long time ago and was a fan before I read it and even more so after I read it. I love her, her art, and her way of thinking so I hope you dig these words of wisdom at least as half as much as I do. And I hope you can stop by my art blog my art tomorrow so see what I have or haven’t accomplished in a week.

Much Peace Love Art~DSCN3573

Leave a Reply

