Free Verse Hippie Poetry…Deep Grass

I walked away

from it all

to a place where the grass stands tall

to a place where the crickets make music that sounds like violins and fish fins

graze the surface to listen too.

I lay down there in the deep grass

a green blanket

finding peace at last.

Exhale now

release there

breathing in the country air.

The aromas of lavender, sage, and memories

of younger age.

Old hands touching the earth

once young and full of rebirth

now worn and thin remembering where I’ve been

but not sure where to go

from here

far or near

it matters not

since I’m staying on this spot

in the deep grass

by the river of glass

where crickets play the strings

and birds sing

and time doesn’t mean a thing.

I’ll wade in the water to swim with the fishes

no longer thinking of washing the dinner dishes.

Swimming and floating

hair spilling out like seaweed

ahhh

this is the place to be

this is the place for me

in the deep grass

a blanket of green

land untouched

land unseen.

Peace reigning supreme.

Let the sun set and rise again

this is my new life plan.

To make some art

to make some love

to make some time for peace and the moaning dove.

To lay down in the deep grass

by the river

glistening like glass.

Finding Peace at long last.

*************************************************************************************

Okay so this sounds a little morbid maybe but its so not meant that way. It is just a cry for, a plea, for peace and who couldn’t use a bit more of it?

Okay, yes, there’s a lot of stress right now but the point is peace can be found in spite of it. Find it, remember it and go back to it whenever you can. Even when’s it hard. Especially when its hard.

Have a beautiful day my friend. Here’s a big hippie hug from me to you.

I hope you can stop by again soon.

Much Peace Love Art~Hippie Puffer Fish by Dawn Collins

2 Comments Add yours

  1. felt that. thanks. question though- why a moaninig dove? did you mean the morning dove, or were you thinking of the sounds. great imagery though, I felt relaxed. big old hippie hug right back- keep spreading that peace and sunshine, momentummikey πŸ™‚

    1. dawn says:

      Lol, Mikey. I like the imagery too and when I googled it from a while back I found it both ways, It sounds so melancholy to me, like its remembering something. I don’t know. I just like it. I’m glad you commented!! Thanks πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

