Yesterday and Life

on

Yesterday I spent my birthday pretty much as usual. I did two loads of laundry, cleaned the bathroom, fed everybody three meals, did the dishes of course, cleaned the liter box, swept the floor, carried out garbage, practiced yoga two glorious times, meditated, drank coffee, and didn’t leave the house! I didn’t go anywhere. I got to paint all day long, you know in between life stuff as mentioned before.

My birthday…my Nona, my German grandmother, died on my birthday. She was pulling out of her driveway to go to church,  a car topping the hill with a speeding driver that was distracted lighting a cigarette crashed into her driver’s side door and killed her. I never  got to say good-bye. She was gone before I could get to the hospital 30 minutes away from where I lived. Even though this happened in 1992 it feels so raw especially on March the 8th.

So, that’s why I like to remind myself of things to feel good about. Things that enhance the happy and promote peace, things for me, like….

fireflies at dusk on warm evenings

coffee in a favorite mug

mama ducks with her ducklings following along behind her

a bed with fresh linens

curtains billowing in the breeze of open windows

freshly cut grass

croquette

kittens

apple cobbler hot from the oven

vanilla ice cream cones

the sound of flip flops

the woods in the afternoons with sunshine playing hide and seek with the trees

I hope I wasn’t too much of a downer but its life man, the good, the bad and the messy. Life is a beautiful mess and I love mine. I hope you love yours too and I hope you can stop by again tomorrow. Much Peace Love Art~

Leave a Reply

