Where does the time go? An important question to ponder before another minute gets away and I have to wonder where it went too.

on

There’s a hummingbird looking in the window at me! I guess turnabout is fair play, right? I watch them all the time. I’m perched here all by myself as my cats are off somewhere in the house. I’m looking along the fence line at what’s left of my beautiful sunflowers. Once so tall and proud and golden, like orbs of sunshine themselves, now drooping and dull colored but still so so so beautiful I think. The birds love them still as much I do.

I hear the pitter-patter of little feet, kitty cat feet, entering the studio. Once I heard the pitter-patter of little feet in footy pjs in chilly weather and saw the blurry sleepy eyes of my children. Now one is 22 and about to move in with her boyfriend and my hippie son is about to get his first job and drive. Where does the time go? An important question to ponder before another minute gets away and I have to wonder where it went too. I know some of it passed playing board games on rainy days and croquet in pajamas in the late summer evenings. Some of it passed in blanket forts and pillow fights and laughter and impromptu gallery shows held down our short hallway where my son collected a dollar per piece of art lol. There were visits from the tooth fairy  and Santa Claus. And Halloweens spent trick or treating with candy still left over at Thanksgiving. But still not enough to fill up all those years…where does the time go? I’m going to do my best to live in each and every moment…I don’t want to miss a thing and wonder about it later. So, that’s what I’m going to do now my friend but I hope you’ll stop by again tomorrow for free verse hippie poetry day! Much Peace Love Art!

Leave a Reply

