Meanwhile…

on

For a couple weeks now I’ve been seeing a school bus. It’s July! School’s out for summer. I mean that’s what Alice Cooper says right? Alice Copper So, I wonder what wormhole have we slipped into out here in the country…Meanwhile…

In the garden…

the beans have just about quit putting off, the new corn is coming up, the squash is still going but slowly along now, the corn is ready I think  but, the zucchini is done. The brussel sprouts are looking good and they are a fall crop too. Soon we’ll plant our fall crops…our cabbage and sugar snaps and gourds and I just read that beans can be grown in the fall too! And collards! How could I forget collards? I love love love them!

In the studio…

drawing drawing drawing! Up to page 10 but last night I thought of a new idea for it and today, probably after we run errands and after lunch, after that, then…I will get to redraw it again. I can’t wait because if it turns out like I see it in my muse’s eye then it’s going to be so cute!!! These drawings for Kathy Robert’s awesome book are inspiring so many peace flag ideas!! Or maybe a whole big art quilt!!  You know what would be so cool? If I did the art quilt based off the drawings, a patch per drawing, then quilted together, and a print of it could go with the books as a limited edition kind of thing.

On the yoga mat…

oh my gosh, so this morning I thought I would try a new practice to switch it up a bit maybe hit and stretch and work some areas I don’t usually get to, since this looked like some advanced postures as I scanned it it seemed to fit the bill. Partially into it I realized it was Advanced Ashtanga, not even Intermediate Ashtanga, but advanced!  I was 30 minutes into it and it was a 90 minute practice.  I thought about switching over to a practice I knew well but I didn’t. I decided to stick it out. And I did indeed touch of spaces I don’t usually get to with lots of leg behind the head asanas and some handstands that I skipped and practiced dolphin instead but it was good. My legs feel like spaghetti noodles they’re so stretched lol. Can’t say I’ll try it again soon but hey, maybe if I did it every single day then I would get better and better at it. I love Ashtanaga but I love vinyasa flow too it’s like dancing. I guess I will just continue to practice what I feel like practicing that day. I used to only practice Ashtanga in the morning and Atmananda in the evening but now I allow myself freedom to grow and expand and approach my practice without rigidity in the practice, in my mind, in my yoga habit lol. I go with the yoga flow now. Oh, I still practice every single day, twice a day for at least an hour each time, longer usually though because I love it so much, I just practice what my body seems to call for and lately that’s been a lot of flow and some cardio yoga too.

Oh my gosh, my coffee mug is empty and the aroma’s wafting through to me in the back cornier of my studio from the kitchen it’s making me crazy,  driving me nuts so I’ve gotta bounce! Have a beautiful day my friend and try to stop by tomorrow for free verse hippie poetry! Much Peace Love Art 😀

4 Comments Add yours

  1. At Margareta's Haus says:

    Where do you find your yoga practices. I love yoga as well but have only done yoga in a studio. Would love to do more. Any hints? Blessings to you!

    1. dawn says:

      Oh my gosh, YouTube has so many yoga videos!! Ashtanga, vinyasa, power! BeFit is a good one and Yoga with Adrienne (not sure I spelled her name right), Atmananda is good… love it! There’s loads just start weeding through. Tomorrow I will put up links to my favorites in my post 😀 Big hugs! Namaste

      1. dawn says:

        Saturday, MARGARETA, I’ll post links on sat.!!

      2. At Margareta's Haus says:

        Thanks! By the way I love reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

