My Life In Art :D

on

I bet being a colorist for a cartoonist would be a great job. I always colored my own cartoons when I was a cartoonist and coloring was my favorite part of the process. Well, to be honest, I liked writing the strips probably as much as coloring them. I thought I would be the next Cathy or something. I drew a strip based on my life as a single mom with two kids, a gypsy mom and a snarky sister. It was warm and sweet and real and often funny. I drew it for years while making money making miniatures for dollhouses and working at a hot dog cart and baking cookies and breads for a local diner. On weekends I would set up at the outdoor market and sell jewelry and art and bread and cookies. A little unconventional method to making money but it worked and I was able to be home with my little ones while they were little. Sometimes I think of reviving the strip just for my etsy shop not for syndication which I never did get but I did come very very close three times! It’s not every cartoonist who receives handwritten letters from major syndicate editors!! And I did. He was actually the one who encouraged me to pursue art rather than cartooning and you know what? That’s where my heart always was anyway. When I was a teenager I was convinced absolutely convinced from seventh grade up until…oh last week lol, I was going to be a great fashion designer! I drew two lines every year from like I said 7th grade till what was I…20? Then I decided I would design album covers. My big dream was to do the cover art for Def Leppard. I also began in high school and still do today drawing posters. Wow, it’s really foggy this morning!! And might I say so inspiring!! I want to make art and pretend I’m on an English countryside making art in a stone house. Wayne has another foot doctor appointment this morning and I have postcards to get going on so I’m off my friend. Try to stop by again tomorrow!! Much Peace Love Art.

no Sunday is complete with out the funny pages!

Smile & Nod
Smile & Nod
2 Comments Add yours

  1. gh0stpupp3t says:

    Dawn, I love your little cartoons. 🙂

    1. dawn says:

      Thank you! Sometimes I miss them 😀

Leave a Reply

