Peace Love Art Music and Poetry…the good stuff life is made of

on
Tambourine Girl
Tambourine Girl
Light Love and Music Girl
Light Love and Music Girl

I used to fancy myself a song writer. I can’t play music. I wish I could. I used to could play Me and You and a Dog Named Blue on my keyboard back in the late 70’s but I don’t have a keyboard now and couldn’t play the song any more if I had one. But I have hopes of finding one at a yard sale this summer and then it’s on! While I couldn’t play music or write song notes I could hear very plainly in fact, melodies and tunes inside my head. I could hear rhythms and beats and riffs and put lyrics to it. From there I fancied myself a poet. Not a Sylvia Plath or Maya Angelo more like Shel Silverstein or Dr. Seuss lol. I can dig A Light In The Attic collection…it conjures up thoughts and ideas and memories for me….for example:

HOW MANY, HOW MUCH (A Light in the Attic)

How many slams in an old screen door?
Depends how loud you shut it.
How many slices in a bread?
Depends how thin you cut it.
How much good inside a day?
Depends how good you live ‘em.
How much love inside a friend?
Depends how much you give ‘em

And of course….

PUT SOMETHING IN (A Light in the Attic)

Draw a crazy picture,
Write a nutty poem,
Sing a mumble-gumble song,
Whistle through your comb.
Do a loony-goony dance
‘Cross the kitchen floor,
Put something silly in the world
That ain’t been there before.

I haven’t written in a while not even a zine but I feel a longing inside me to do so. Especially a zine. An artsy poety (I know that’s not a word and I’m ok with that 😀 ) zine. I’m glad I get to show up here and chat with y’all everyday but for me this isn’t art or poetry or writing it’s good friends having a conversation, sharing time and space with coffee! for a little while. I think I may designate Friday as my poetry/zine/writing day…at least part of the day. I think that’s a good idea don’t you? Why don’t you designate a day to spend a little time doing something you used to do but have since stopped doing because of time…work…kids…money… try just a little you may still love it. Anyway, be free, be happy, just be and try to stop by again tomorrow if you can…Much Peace Love Art ~ poetry ~ I’ll leave a light on in the attic for you! A beacon of light!

Leave a Reply

