My Version of Jack and Jack…A Hippie Nursery Rhyme

on

I think I’m going to write and illustrate a book of fairy tales using the Brothers Grimm for inspiration but putting my hippie spin on them…off the top of my head this is coming to me as I sit here drinking my first cup of coffee of the morning having already had my shower, cleaned the liter box, fed and water the furry family members, practiced yoga and tai chi and lit incense and checked my email and read my friend, Wanda’s blog…I love love love her!! So, I had no intention of writing this little book until now but now it’s on my mind and oh my gosh!! you know what occurs to me too!!!?!! I can make art quilts, little mini art quilts based off each one and who knows…sell them…the book and the art quilt prints as a package or if you buy one you get the other…I always always always include a gift when someone buys something from me whether it’s a 50 dollar piece of a 12 dollar coloring book it matters not, each and every sale is appreciated and important to me! Ok, let’s see just how well the creative nectars are flowing this morning…I’m going to pick a tale and attempt to translate it hippie style…here goes….Ok, a change of idea here. I just looked and oh my gosh, the Brothers Grimm stories are longer than what I want to attempt here so I’m going to pick a nursery rhyme instead but I’ll probably still utilize the Grimm stories in part at some point because I’m really feeling it you know? Ok, so off to pick a nursery rhyme…be right back…

Jack and Jill went up the hill

To fetch a pail of water.

Jack fell down and broke his crown,

And Jill came tumbling after.

Up Jack got and home did trot,

As fast as he could caper;

And went to bed and bound his head

With vinegar and brown paper.

Then Jill came in, and she did grin,

To see Jack’s paper plaster;

Her mother whipt her, across her knee,

For laughing at Jack’s disaster.

Ok, now here’s my version….

Jack and Jill went up the hill

to make wish in the well of water…

Jack sat down took off his crown

for he knew he was no better than any other…

Jill saw her brother’s change and began picking wildflowers

of which she made for her hair a long beautiful chain

her heart full of joy

could no longer be restrained!

Jack went home to share the news 

of Peace and Love to all

Jill danced in the russet leafs of fall

Their mother, the Queen was quite confused at the changes in her children

but when she heard the laughter and felt the joy she was no longer bewildered…

She declared the valley a place of Peace, Love

 and Happy Ever After!

Lol, it may need tweaking but that’s just off the top of my head this morning. I know, go get more coffee right? 😀 Ok, y’all have a great day! Try to stop by tomorrow for Peace Love Art ~Dharma Girl Today’s secret or little know fact…I twirl my hair around my finger all the time! I can’t seem to stop!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Simply Wanda says:

    I love, love, love you too Dawn! Thanks for stopping by. Girl you have so many projects going I don’t know how you get them all done… wait, yes I do… COFFEEEE!
    I got a present today at work from one of the RN’s. She had to fly to Puerto Rico to check on her Mother who is sick. Brought me a big bag of Puerto Rican COFFEEE. It is sooooo delicious, very smooth compared to some of the ones I buy here. Can’t wait till in the morning to enjoy a BIG cup before I go to work… wish I could share a cup with you! 😦

  2. dawn says:

    Me too!!! But we’ll be having coffee together in spirit!! Enjoy!!! Peace Love Art!!! and COFFEE 😀

Leave a Reply

