Retro Commercials! Love Them!

on

DSCN1119

Today I jumped in the Way Back Buggy and watched retro commercials on YouTube  

. Isn’t that funny…when I was a kid I probably couldn’t have cared less about the commercials but now they bring back the memories a lot like the way music does! Oh my gosh, suddenly my gypsy mom is in the kitchen making rice crispy treats again the way she did before she divorced..after that there was little baking and mainly finger foods for dinner…you remember, I told you about it…anyways suddenly there she is making the rice crispy treats I loved so much! There’s candles burning (something I do now!), there’s a fire in the fireplace and a roast in the oven. There’s dinner rolls from the bag and a brightly colored painted house. The tv is on and there’s the commercials! The M & M’s, the Stetson cologne, the Rock ‘Em Sock ‘Em robots, the Barbie dream home!! I had the Barbie snow chalet that flipped and became the Barbie beach house and my Barbie would tan if put under a lamp! The first tanning bed perhaps? Lol. Remember the commercial that the woman sang she could bring home the bacon and fry it up in the pan and never let him forget he’s a man?! AndFruity Pebbles with Fred and Barney and ice skating Ronald McDonald who I so did not care for as he was a clown and I so don’t like clowns!! But I liked the ice skating! Remember the lifesavers that came in a box that looked like a storybook…do they still do that? Wait, are Life Savers still available? If so then why don’t I buy some?! What was your favorite life saver flavor? Mine would probably be cherry but butter rum was really good too! Oh my gosh!! Remember N-E-S-T-L-E-S? They made the very best!! And Cracker Jacks! They had the best prizes! I know Cracker Jacks are still around but I doubt if the prizes are as good…sadly. Jiffy Pop! My mom popped Jiffy Pop for us! That was so amazing! Like magic! I remember those rice crispy treats and the Jiffy Pop and Marshmallows too. She had marshmallows in the cabinet at all times! And ice cream in the freezer year round since I know some folks only like it when it’s hot out not us…ice cream is good anytime unless you’re just really really really cold then you should have your N-E-S-T-L-E-S heated up first then on to the ice cream! Which sounds pretty good right about now…how about popcorn and butter toast for dinner with vanilla ice cream for desert with maybe a little wine? Sometimes you simply have to indulge yourself and this just may be one of those kinds of nights! Y’all have a great evening and try to stop by tomorrow ok? Peace Love Art ~

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Simply Wanda says:

    Cracker Jacks prizes are no where near the cool ones they use to have in the 60s and 70s! Thanks for the trip down Memory Lane!

  2. dawn says:

    Glad you can dig it!! I love the good ol days so much 😀

Leave a Reply

