Thanksgiving Memories and Countdown to Turkey Day

It’s almost here! The biggest eating day of the year! I’ve been flooded with memories all day long today. I love memories don’t you? In second grade our teacher had us shove our desks to the sides of the room and down the center she spread out a long cloth or something and we all sat down around it on the floor, the cold tile floor as I recall but who cared ’cause it was so much fun! It was like a Charlie Brown Thanksgiving! She put out snacks…all kinds of goodies and we ate right there. I will never ever forget that day. It was cold outside and gray (my favorite kind of day) and it was wonderful! Somewhere down the school line we learned a song it went like this:

Turkey dinner

turkey dinner

gather round

gather round

who’ll get the drum stick

the yummy yummy yum stick

all sit down

all sit down…

Cornbread muffin

chestnut stuffin’

puddin’ pie

ten foot high

all of us were thinner

till we had our dinner

all sit down

all sit down…

I think that was 7th grade chorus! Can you believe it? Lol. I can’t believe I still remember that song! That’s so funny. I taught it to my kids when they were little. I can’t believe they aren’t little any more….

I remember we always went to my Nona’s for Thanksgiving. She really did it up right, Southern style with enough food to feed an army! I miss her so much. My favorite part of the meal was her homemade yeast bread and now, dear friends, I have figured out her recipe. The holy grail of recipes since she refused to share it with anyone…EVER! It took me a while and a lot of loaves of bread to get it right, but I got it! And it was a tasty trial and error anyway. Bread is good. I love love love bread. I love it as toast or by itself. I love it with honey or syrup or butter or seasoned or plain. I think I actually prefer homemade bread plain. I love the density of it. The homeyness of it. I love dipping it in coffee or eggs or even oatmeal. For me, homemade bread is the ultimate comfort food. You totally know I’ll be making it tomorrow!! Let my meat eaters have turkey, I’ll have bread! šŸ˜€ I think I’ll write a bread zine…my ode to bread lol.Ā DSCN0697

I remember the first time my own mom tried to make the meal. It was hilarious! She cut the stuffing out with Christmas cookie cutters. My mom never cooked…after she divorced I don’t remember her cooking another meal. I cooked. If she cooked we had finger foods…everything came on a skewer…I’m not kidding. Think Mrs. Flax from the movie Mermaids with Cher and Winona Ryder and you’ll have my mom…come to think of it she moved us around like that too!

Tomorrow I’ll be in my happy place…my kitchen slicing and dicing and cooking away and loving every single minute of it while the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade is on tv and then the dog show!! I love love love the dog show!!! Then after it’s all said and done and feasted upon Wayne will settle back in his favorite chair to watch football behind closed eyes and I’ll make art in my other happy place…my studio. Maybe we’ll work a puzzle in the late afternoon or play a game or just graze the rest of the day on one of the three pies lol or bread!!!

I hope y’all’s Turkey day is wonderful and filled with memories to warm you as we now head into Winter. I’ll be back here at the barefoot home tomorrow if you want to drop by for coffee and left overs and peace love art ~

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Simply Wanda says:

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    1. dawn says:

      Right back at cha Wanda!! Hope it’s filled with Peace, Love, Tasty Food and Good Memories šŸ˜€ Big hugs!!

Leave a Reply

