The Farmer’s Almanac, Our Own Country Store Dream and Life

on

Okay, so I didn’t get the plank and catwalk into the garden yesterday because it rained all day long!! But this morning looks like it’ll clear for a bit. The Farmer’s Almanac was right it has been a unusally wet summer and June has been our hottest month! How do they know these things? I love I mean LOVE The Farmer’s Almanac! I wish it could make predictions about my art too…you know steering me in the right direction. Something like July will bring Christmas art in abundance and August will render more sells than last year lol. I need to go check it again to see what it’s in store weather wise for the up coming months so I can plan my gardening adventures accordingly.

Why do dogs wake up in the morning, have a snack and go right back to sleep for hours? I can’t do that.

I’m burning Fast Luck incense right now. It’s new to me, Sky wanted it so I got it from my soul sister Sunday at the Webb Rd. Flea Market. It’s really strong, smells a little like cannibus, but hopefully it will bring good luck fast.

One of my smaller sunflowers that my best friend Sara sent me from Virginia is laying down and has been since yesterday so if it doesn’t stand back up by the time I go out to feed the hummingbirds and red birds and blue jays and brown bunnies and stray kitty…I’m going to bring it in. I can’t bear pulling flowers from the ground when they are tall and proud but when they droop or seem weak bringing them in seems to me anyway, like a nice thing to do. They revive and are admired and sat in a place of honor in a pretty jar or vintage cobalt vase in the kitchen window sill where I can see the pretty flower and the pool and deck and dog oasis with the big beautiful pin oak and pear tree and plum tree too. So, I think it’s okay then. At the end of summer though I will leave the big flower centers with the wonderful seeds outside in a basket for the birds, they love them so much. Although this year I think I will harvest a handful of seeds for next years crop of sunflowers and I do mean crop of sunflowers because I’m going to plant a ton of them week after week after week to keep them coming on. My sprouting bin from last week or was it the week before I wrote it down, is doing great with the beans but not so much with the peppers. Usually I can grow peppers with ease so I think I have faulty seeds and the eggplants have been bad too and usually they’re no problem at all either! No offense Lowe’s but next year I’m ordering all my seeds from a seed catalogue or getting them from a feed store. I got Bijou’s dewormer from the feed store and it worked great! I love feed stores. The one we go to is out in the country with their own pond to fish in! The building is old with plank floors and exposed beams and no air conditioning and I love it! It smells like country and seed and feed and summer and memories. The couple have owned and ran it forever!!! I would love love love to do that! To have an old country store where we sold apple butter and cider and fresh eggs and homemade jams and jellies and plaid dish cloths along side the feeds and stuff. We could sell flowers and veggies and give hay rides in the fall and grow Christmas trees!! Wayne could dress up like hippie Santa at Christmas and we could have festivals! I could make art in between customers and Rainy and Sky could work there. Sky wants to be a farmer although I think he would make a great motivational speaker and writer…the kid is wise beyond his 13 years let me tell you. Rainy could put us online and handle all that computer stuff and help with the animals since we would have to have animals and she is so so so good with them! We would need… Chickens and goats and peacocks and horses and kitties and dogs and maybe a donkey…Ok, so this is getting a little long and I have art to make and transfers to send…three pieces of new Christmas art!! Yay!! Hope my agent likes them! Cross your fingers and toes! I need another new contract! Y’all have a great day! Meet me back here tomorrow for more Peace*Love*Art*Country Give me a zine pouchLife!

Leave a comment